February 18, 2019

To advertise with LGF, call Richard Hebert (225) 931-8711

"Changing Lives, Improving Communities"

LA Tech Bulldogs Football

The LA Tech Bulldogs of Ruston, LA are looking forward to another great season. Head coach Skip Holtz and the team are calling all fans to put on their red and blue and come out and support at their games. Joe Aillet stadium underwent nearly $40 million in renovations that were completed last year. Improvements and additions were made to the press box and new luxury suites were added to the stadium. This makes the stadium that holds over 30,000 people even more inviting.

Last year the Bulldogs had an overall record of 7-6 and a conference record of 4-4. The Bulldogs are part of the USA (West) conference and their current standing is 4th in the West. They currently have spread offensive schemes and multiple defensive schemes. Louisiana Tech has won 4 straight bowl game titles under head coach Skip Holtz. LA Tech won the 2014 Heart of Dallas Bowl against Illinois, the 2015 New Orleans Bowl against Arkansas State, the 2016 Armed Forces Bowl against the Navy and in 2017 the Frisco Bowl against SMU winning by an ending score of 51-10.

Last season quarterback J’mar Smith had 2974 yards passing, 16 touchdowns and 5 interceptions. Running back Boston Scott had 1047 yards rushing and 181 yards receiving. Linebacker Dae’Von Washington had 42 solo tackles and 29 assisted tackles for a total of 71.

The Bulldogs have been a team since 1901 and had their debut in Joe Aillet Stadium in 1968.

LA Tech also has won 3 National Titles under head coach Maxie Lambright. In 1972 they won the National Football Foundation College Division. In 1973 the NCAA Division II title was won. In 1974 the title of the United Press International College Division was won.

LA Tech is a school full of spirit and rich in history. LA Tech has multiple former players in the Hall of Fame. The College Football Hall of Fame includes 3 former LA Tech Bulldogs football players. Quarterback Terry Bradshaw was inducted in 1996, defensive lineman Fred Dean was inducted in 2009, and offensive tackle Willie Roaf was inducted in 2014. These 3 players are also in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

LA Tech is gearing up for this season and asks all fans to come out and support their favorite Bulldogs as they prepare for an energetic and action filled year. This season they have exciting games scheduled against powerful D1 schools such as Mississippi State and LSU. It will be a loud and fun atmosphere and Bulldog fans should get ready.