January 20, 2019

To advertise with LGF, call Richard Hebert (225) 931-8711

"Changing Lives, Improving Communities"

Teuhema, Petit-Frere Represent SLU on Phil Steele FCS All-America Teams

HAMMOND, La. – Southeastern Louisiana senior linebacker Sione Teuhema and sophomore kick returner Juwan Petit-Frere were both named to the 2017 Phil Steele FCS All-America Teams, which were announced on Friday.

Teuhema and Petit-Frere were both first team selections by Steele. The two Lion standouts were among 21 Southland Conference student-athletes recognized on the list.

Teuhema adds the All-American nod to last month’s first team All-Southland Conference recognition. He finished 11th in the Buck Buchanan Award voting after posting 80 tackles, nine sacks and 19.0 tackles for loss in his final collegiate campaign. The Keller, Texas native’s tackle for loss total tied a single-season school record. Teuhema currently ranks in the top five in FCS in sacks (4th) and tackles for loss (2nd) per game.

Petit-Frere is also no stranger to postseason accolades, as he was named second team all-conference following the regular season. He led the nation with a 34.6 kickoff return average. The Orlando, Florida native also had two touchdowns and sat atop the FCS national rankings in kickoff return average from the opening week of the season to present day.

In the history of the Southland Conference, only former Lion All-American Xavier Roberson’s 2013 kickoff return average of 35.2 narrowly eclipsed the nation’s best single-season average of Petit-Frere in his debut season in Hammond.

Teuhema will look to continue his career on the professional level, while Petit-Frere will return for his junior season, which will open on Sept. 1 at ULM.

2017 Phil Steele FCS All-America Teams

Offensive Player of the Year: QB Chris Streveler, South Dakota, Sr.
Defensive Player of the Year: 
LB Brett Taylor, Western Illinois, Sr.
Offensive Lineman of the Year: OT Brandon Parker, North Carolina A&T, Sr.
Freshman of the Year: 
LB Bryson Armstrong, Kennesaw State

First Team Offense

WR – Keelan Doss, UC Davis, Jr.

WR – Justin Watson, Penn, Sr.

WR – Neil O’Connor, New Hampshire, Jr.

TE – Dallas Goedert, South Dakota State, Sr.

OL – Brandon Parker, North Carolina A&T, Sr.

OL – Timon Parris, Stony Brook, Sr.

OL – Jamil Demby, Maine, Sr.

OL – Austin Kuhnert, North Dakota State, Sr.

OL – Skyler Phillips, Idaho State, Sr.

QB – Chris Streveler, South Dakota, Sr.

RB – Josh Mack, Maine, So.

RB – Roc Thomas, Jacksonville State, Sr.

FB – Cal Daniels, Stony Brook, Jr.

First Team Defense
DL – Darius Jackson, Jacksonville State, Sr.

DL – Jonathan Peterson, San Diego, Sr.

DL – Dalton Keene, Illinois State, Sr.

LB – Sione Teuhema, Southeastern Louisiana, Sr.
LB – Darius Leonard, South Carolina State, Sr.

LB – Brett Taylor, Western Illinois, Sr.

LB – Nick DeLuca, North Dakota State, Sr.

DB – Davonte Harris, Illinois State, Sr.

DB – D’Montre Wade, Murray State, Sr.

DB – Taron Johnson, Weber State, Sr.

DB – Mike Basile, Monmouth, Sr.

First Team Specialists

K – Loren Fonseca, Nicholls, Jr.

P – Joe Zema, UIW, Sr.

KR – Juwan Petit-Frere, Southeastern Louisiana, So.

PR – Justine Shelton-Mosley, Harvard, Jr.

AP – John Santiago, North Dakota, Jr.

Second Team Offense
WR – Elijah Marks, Northern Arizona, Sr.

WR – Nathan Stewart, Sam Houston State, So.

WR – Davion Davis, Sam Houston State, Jr.

TE – Andrew Vollert, Weber State, Sr.

OL – Justin Lea, Jacksonville State, Sr.

OL – Jacob Ohnesorge, South Dakota State, Sr.

OL – Aaron Stinnie, James Madison, Sr.

OL – Alex Thompson, Monmouth, Sr.

OL – Zach Larsen, Southern Utah, So.

QB – Kyle Lauletta, Richmond, Sr.

RB – Detrez Newsome, Western Carolina, Sr.

RB – Dominick Bragalone, Lehigh, Jr.

FB – Connor Wentz, North Dakota State, Sr.

Second Team Defense

DL – P.J. Hall, Sam Houston State, Sr.

DL – Andrew Ankrah, James Madison, Sr.

DL – Anthony Ellis, Charleston Southern, Sr.

DL – Richard Jarvis, Brown, Sr.

LB – Jared Farley, Northern Iowa, Sr.

LB – Warren Messer, Elon, Jr.

LB – Garrett Dolan, Houston Baptist, Sr.

LB – Christian Rozeboom, South Dakota State, So.

DB – Tremon Smith, Central Arkansas, Sr.

DB – Elijah Campbell, Northern Iowa, Sr.

DB – Danny Johnson, Southern, Sr.

DB – Marlon Bridges, Jacksonville State, So.

Second Team Specialists
K – Lane Clark, Tennessee State, Sr.

P – Ian Berryman, Western Carolina, Jr.

KR – Darius Floyd, Prairie View, Jr.

PR – Davion Davis, Sam Houston State, Jr.

AP – Detrez Newsome, Western Carolina, Sr.

Third Team Offense
WR – Jaelon Acklin, Western Illinois, Sr.

WR – Troy Pelletier, Lehigh, Sr.

WR – Jake Wieneke, South Dakota State, Sr.

TE – Andy Schumpert, Furman, Sr.

OL – Alex Light, Richmond, Sr.

OL – Jacob Judd, Western Illinois, Sr.

OL – Mitchell Sweigart, Princeton, Sr.

OL – John Cook, Central Arkansas, Jr.

OL – Matthew Schmidt, Furman, Sr.

QB – Hayden Hildebrand, Central Arkansas, Sr.

RB – De’Lance Turner, Alcorn State, Sr.

RB – Zane Dudek, Yale, Fr.

FB – Andre Stoddard, Wofford, Jr.

Third Team Defense
DL – Abdullah Anderson, Bucknell, Sr.

DL – Khalen Saunders, Western Illinois, Jr.

DL – Bilal Nichols, Delaware, Sr.

DL – Eric Jackson, Central Arkansas, Sr.

LB – Nick McBeath, Holy Cross, Sr.

LB – Brandon Bryant, Lafayette, Sr.

LB – Josh Buss, Montana, Jr.

LB – Matthew Oplinger, Yale, Sr.

DB – Tre Dempsey, North Dakota State, Sr.

DB – Rashad Robinson, James Madison, Jr.

DB – George Odum, Central Arkansas, Sr.

DB – Jordan Brown, James Madison, Sr.

Third Team Specialists

K – Trey Tuttle, Weber State, Fr.

P – Austin Bernard, Samford, Sr.

KR – Desmond Hite, UIW, So.

PR – Xequille Harry, Weber State, Sr.

AP – Davion Davis, Sam Houston State, Jr.


Fourth Team Offense

WR – Kelvin McKnight, Samford, Jr.

WR – Jesper Horsted, Princeton, Jr.

WR – Daurice Fountain, Northern Iowa, Sr.

TE – Ross Dwelley, San Diego, Sr.

OL – Ben Huss, Duquesne, Sr.

OL – Iosua Opeta, Weber State, Jr.

OL – Daniel Cooney, San Diego, Jr.

OL – Stetson Dagel, South Dakota, Sr.

OL – Ross Demmel, Wofford, Sr.

QB – Jeremiah Briscoe, Sam Houston State, Sr.

RB – Corey Avery, Sam Houston State, Sr.

RB – A.J. Hines, Duquesne, So.

FB – Anthony Manzo-Lewis, Albany, Sr.

Fourth Team Defense
DL – Chris Stewart, Sam Houston State, Jr.

DL – Chris Terrell, Central Arkansas, So.

DL – Darin Greenfield, South Dakota, So.

DL – Jaison Williams, Austin Peay, So.

LB – Thomas Costigan, Bryant, Jr.

LB – Marion Jenkins, Idaho State, Sr.

LB – Shaheed Salmon, Samford, Sr.

LB – De’Arius Christmas, Grambling, Jr.

DB – Rock Ya-Sin, Presbyterian, Jr.

DB – Jimmy Moreland, James Madison, Jr.

DB – Malik Duncan, Saint Francis (PA), Sr.

DB – Ryan Greene, James Madison, Sr.

Fourth Team Specialists

K – Gunner Raborn, McNeese, Jr.

P – Keith Wrzuszcaak, Eastern Kentucky, Sr.

KR – Jean Constant, Bryant, So.

PR – Khris Gardin, North Carolina A&T, Sr.

AP – Elijah Marks, Northern Arizona, Sr.

Southeastern student-athletes in bold

Southland Conference student-athletes in bold italics

About Andy Bryson 667 Articles
Founder of Louisiana Gridiron Football and football coach