July 13, 2020

To advertise with LGF, call Andy (985) 789-9351

"Changing Lives, Improving Communities"

Lewis to be Inducted into BCFHOF

ATLANTA, Ga. | Grambling State University former football player Frank Lewis was chosen on Thursday to be inducted into the Class of 2019 Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF).

Lewis is among seven inductees selected for the 10th hall of fame class, which was determined by the BCFHOF Selection Committee.

Lewis, a Grambling State wide receiver from 1967 to 1970, helped the Tigers capture the 1968 Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) championship. In 1969, he led Grambling State in rushing and receiving yards. In his collegiate career, Lewis registered 42 total touchdowns and was a three-time All-SWAC wide receiver. After graduating from GSU, Lewis was selected in the First Round with the Eighth Overall Pick by the Pittsburgh Steelers. He played 13 seasons in the NFL (Steelers: 1971-1977; Buffalo Bills: 1978-1983) and had a Pro Bowl selection.

Joining Lewis for the Classic of 2019 is Emerson Boozer (Maryland Eastern Shore), Hugh Douglas (Central State), Rich “Tombstone” Jackson (Southern), Timmy Newsome (Winston-Salem State), John Taylor (Delaware State) as player inductees, and Coach Arnett “Ace” Mumford (Jarvis Christian College, Bishop College, Texas College and Southern University).

“On behalf of the Board of Trustees, we congratulate the Class of 2019,” said BCFHOF Co-Founder and 2011 Inductee Doug Williams. “To be inducted into the Black College Football Hall of Fame in its first 10 years is quite an honor. Just take a look at those historical names.”

Votes were tallied from the 12-member Selection Committee, comprised of prominent journalists, commentators and historians, as well as former NFL General Managers and executives, and from previous BCFHOF inductees to determine the Inductees.

The Class of 2019 will be honored at the 10th Annual Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, Presented by the Atlanta Falcons on February 16, 2019. The Induction Ceremony takes place at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Georgia.

The Inductees will also be recognized at the Celebration Bowl in Atlanta on December 15th. For more information please visit www.BlackCollegeFootballHOF.org.


About the Black College Football Hall of Fame

The Black College Football Hall of Fame was founded in 2009 by African-American pioneers, quarterbacks James Harris and Doug Williams to preserve the history and honor the greatest football players, coaches and contributors from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). There have been 77 Inductees since inception, including Mel Blount, James Harris, Willie Lanier, Art Shell and Doug Williams, who serve as Trustees.

Follow Grambling State Athletics
For complete coverage of Grambling State athletics, please follow the Tigers on social media at @GSU_Tigers (Twitter), /gramblingstateathletics (Facebook), @gramblingathletics01 (Instagram) or visit the official home of Grambling State Athletics at gsutigers.com.



Brian Howard
Sports Information Director
Grambling State University

About Andy Bryson 705 Articles
Founder of Louisiana Gridiron Football and football coach