February 18, 2019

To advertise with LGF, call Richard Hebert (225) 931-8711

"Changing Lives, Improving Communities"

Nicholls State University Football

The Nicholls State University Colonels of Thibodaux LA, are preparing for a dominant football season this year. The fans get to come to John L. Guidry Stadium and watch their favorite team play against rival teams like Southeastern Louisiana and Northwestern State. The home games always bring a better atmosphere for the team to compete well. Leading the team is Coach Tim Rebowe who has been the Head coach now since 2015. Coach Rebowe has years of coaching experience and continued to grow his team throughout the years. The Colonels finished their last season with a 7-2 conference standing and a 8-4 overall standing and they were ranked 3rdoverall in the Southland conference.


Last season Nicholls State, had plenty of great games, including the game against Stephen F. Austin. Sophomore quarterback Kyrin Irvin had a 38-yard touchdown and his teammate Lorran Fonseca kicked two field goals and the gave the team a great lead by halftime. During this game the colonels showed a tremendous amount of team work.


Nicholls State University has won 3 conference championships, and has been in 4 Division I-AA/Division 1 FCS playoffs. Throughout  the years The Colonels has had a rich coaching history and in the year 1996 Coach Eddie Robinson won the National Coach of the year award. 1981-1986 Coach Sonny Jackson won a total of 39 games. The team also has had 15 players selected as college football All-Americans of those 15, 3 were selected as multiple winners.


With the season coming around quickly, the team has been training and working hard to prepare and make it a great one. Asking all Colonels fans who bleed red and grey to come out and support and cheer them on, as they strive to win a National Championship. There will be plenty of home games for fans who love the game of football to attend. Let’s all go out and show support and wish the Colonels a successful season this year.